GCSE Maths

“Mathematics GCSE continues to be a two-tier assessment system.”



Awarding Body

Who to contact for more information about this course

Queries should be directed to Mr Stoddart

Years taught

Year 10 and Year 11

What is the course structure?

Mathematics GCSE continues to be a two-tier assessment system. Grades 1-5 can be achieved on the Foundation Level paper and Grades 4-9 on the Higher Level paper. The qualification is based on three papers (depending on examination board). All examinations take place at the end of Year 11.


The 9-1 GCSE course will have a greater focus on problem solving and reasoning with more questions testing the application of mathematical knowledge than in the old GCSE.


Retake students in Year 12 and 13 take the Foundation GCSE course with lessons focused on their identified areas for development.

What will I study?

How is the course assessed?

Kenton School logo